Skinny Pizza – Not Quite Skinny

I was in love with the Black Pepper Prawn Linguine the first time I went Skinny Pizza, and so I jumped at the chance to eat there again a few days ago when I happened to be at Plaza Sing.

Skinny Pizza changes their lunch time deals quite frequently. Right now they are promoting their new Chicken Satay Pizza. We ordered the two-person lunch set, which consists of the Chicken Satay pizza and a pasta of our choice, and of course I chose Black Pepper Prawn linguine.

Skinny Pizza Chicken Satay Pizza - EAT Alone Together

Skinny Pizza serves crispy thin crust pizzas. The chicken satay pizza has chewy, tender chicken satay chunks, with satay sauce generously poured over it. At first bite it tastes wonderful, but after subsequent bites I realised a big problem with it. Too much satay sauce. It’s too salty, too oily and too overwhelming, and after a while I was gulping down my water. The pizza also became soggy quickly because of all the sauce.

Skinny Pizza Black Pepper Prawn Linguine - Eat Alone Together

Then came the black pepper prawn linguine, which is topped with fish roe. I really like it because the prawns they use are fresh and succulent, and the black pepper pasta base has been stir-fried with chunks of prawn, so the linguine absorbs the juices of prawns. But guess what? The same problem – too salty and oily. Towards the end the linguine was literally soaked in oil, and no matter how flavorful it is, it just got me terribly sick.

*Unappetizing photo warning*

Skinny Pizza Oily Linguine - Eat Alone Together

 

Take a look at the glistening oil in the linguine… And imagine how much oil we ate just in one meal.

After this I don’t think I’m going back there for another meal. Skinny pizza? I don’t think so.

2 thoughts on “Skinny Pizza – Not Quite Skinny

  1. I would say that you chose the wrong pizza. I ALWAYS go for the sure-win dishes that will please most people with tastebuds. I love their truffle mushroom pizza. It is not a problem for me to eat a whole mushroom pizza by myself.
    I normally order with a side of truffle fries,and the black pepper prawn pasta or mushroom risotto as my main.

    • Hey thanks for your comment! Hm the greasy food problem is something that applies to all the food at Skinny Pizza, I think. Not only was my pizza overly oily, my black pepper prawn pasta was too. And I did share a truffle fries with my friend, it was literally soaking in oil, and that was when we decided we aren’t coming back.

Leave a comment